History of the Darling Downs-Moreton Rabbit Board
When rabbits first reached Queensland in the 1880s from the southern states, a fence was quickly constructed along the border in an attempt to keep them out. Unfortunately, the rabbits had already invaded some districts before the fence was complete. Some of the invaded rabbit fence district boards had inadequate financial and technical resources to cope with the problem and went bankrupt. Many other sections of the fence fell into disrepair and ceased being a barrier to rabbits.
In 1930, all existing rabbit boards were abolished except three—the Leichhardt, Darling Downs and Moreton. In 1963, the Leichhardt Rabbit Board closed and the Darling Downs Rabbit Board took over 80 km of the fence, extending it west of Chinchilla. The following year, the Darling Downs Rabbit Board and the Moreton Rabbit Board were merged to become the Darling Downs-Moreton Rabbit Board (DDMRB).
Our history book ‘Keeping Rabbits Out’, is available for purchase by contacting the office on 07 4661 4076.
The fence is now 555 km long and stretches from Mt Gipps in Lamington National Park in the east, to Goombi in the south-west where it connects to the Wild Dog Barrier Fence. It protects about 28 000 km² within southern Queensland.
The DDMRB rabbit-proof fence provides a unique form of protection against the incursion of rabbits, and has successfully prevented the establishment of significant rabbit populations within its boundaries.
If rabbits are found within the boards operational area, every effort is made to eradicate them.
Pushed up piles of timber – typical Rabbit Harbour.